Savers Bank Supports the Uxbridge Quaker Meetinghouse
Uxbridge Quaker Meetinghouse Association president Philip Wheelock recently accepted a donation of $5,000 from representatives of Savers Bank. "We are so grateful for the support we are receiving from the business community and from many generous individuals throughout the Valley," commented Wheelock. "Our 1800s carriage shed is unsafe and will soon be demolished. The goal is to have a new structure in place, and to have some critical work done on the main building, in time for our 250th Anniversary Celebration and Open House Series this summer."
The historic 1770 brick meetinghouse on the corner of Quaker Highway and Aldrich Street was once the center of a thriving Quaker community. The formal Quaker meeting was disbanded in the early 20th century. Since the 1950s a group of local volunteers has maintained the building and shared its history and unique architecture with the community. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Place in 1974.
"It is clear that Savers Bank values the history that abounds in Uxbridge," said Barbara Hall, VP of the Quaker Meetinghouse Association. "They are at the very center of town in the stunning 1882 Uxbridge Inn building, which has been owned by the bank since 2002. We are pleased that they share our mission of preserving the historic properties in our area."
If you would like to contribute to the Association’s 250th Anniversary Campaign, donations may be mailed to UQMHA, 11 Washington Court, Uxbridge, MA 01569. The Quaker Meetinghouse Association is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit corporation.
Press release provided by, Barbara Hall - Uxbridge Quaker Meetinghouse Assoc.